Blog Details

NCF 2023 New Proposals

The NCF 2023 proposal intends to implement the framework within 10 years in its entirety. The document is in line with the NEP 2020 and seeks to reform the current education model that encourages rote learning to a system that promotes building understanding and skills. 

Here are the key proposed changes:
For classes 11 and 12:

  • Board exams will be offered twice a year.
    To assess understanding and make assessments more formative, holding board exams twice a year will help curb the need to memorize for a 3-hour exam. It tests understanding in phases.
  • Two languages are mandatory.
    Class 11 and 12 students will be required to study two languages. Currently, it is one. One the languages must be an Indian language, taught at 'literature level.'
  • Boards of examinations will allow students to choose subjects from different streams to obtain a grade 12 certificate. It will allow exploring other areas as well, unlike the current system that compartmentalizes academic streams.
  • More subjects will be available, based on a semester system. This will eliminate the need to pick a specific stream, and the pressure of exams.
  • To obtain a class 12 certificate, the student must pass a total of six exams:
    • Two language examinations. One must be native to India.
    • Four subjects with an optional fifth subject. Students must make a selection that ensures at least two of the following groups are covered:

                            Group 2: Art Education, Physical Education and Well-being, Vocational Education
                            Group 3: Social Science and Humanities, Interdisciplinary Areas
                            Group 4: Science, Mathematics & Computational Thinking


For class 10:

  • Board exams will be offered twice a year.
    The option to take board exams twice a year will allow flexibility. When students feel they have prepared the subject, they may take the exam.
  • To obtain a grade 10 certificate, students must successfully complete required courses from each of the eight available curricular areas (10 subjects.)